What is TEAP?


ACPSEM's Training Education and Assessment Program (TEAP)

The ACPSEM considers that a medical physicist training program is essential for the development of the profession, as well as for the recruitment of new medical physicists. To this end the ACPSEM, through the Specialty Interest Groups and the Professional Standards Board, have developed training programs in nuclear medicine, radiation oncology and radiology. The standard program is expected to take 4 to 5 years, but may be shorter if exemptions are granted.

To find out about a particular training program please select one of the three specialty areas provided in the menu. General information and specific professional areas are provided. Please note there are specific requirements for eligibility to enrol which include:

    • To have either
      • an ACPSEM-approved bachelors degree in physics (a bachelors degree majoring in physics from an Australian or New Zealand university will generally meet this requirement) or
      • a degree majoring in physics from an overseas university which has been assessed by NOOSR or NZQA as being equivalent to a bachelors degree majoring in physics from an Australian or New Zealand university
    • Acceptance into an ACPSEM approved post graduate degree in medical physics (usually masters or higher), or ACPSEM approved equivalents. You MUST also meet the undergraduate requirements (above).
    • Employment as a registrar in training at an approved ACPSEM clinical centre. 


For more information on TEAP please contact the TEAP Administrator, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

To apply for entry into TEAP, please download and follow the instructions on the TEAP Application Form