Business Details

The ACPSEM is a company limited by Guarantee ABN 44 005 379 162.

It is governed in accordance with governance legislation, regulations and standards applied in Australia and New Zealand. It comprises a council, branches (state, territory and New Zealand) and several specialty committees.

Board Structure

The ACPSEM is overseen by a Board called the ACPSEM Council of 13 members comprising six branch chairs and seven executive members. The Executive members are concurrently elected for two year terms, and consist of:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Honorary Secretary
  • Honorary Treasurer
  • Honorary Registrar
  • Chairman of the Professional Standards Board
  • Immediate Past President

The Chairs of each of the 6 Branches of the ACPSEM are elected at Brach AGMs, generally for two year terms and at times consistent with the requirements of each branch. The branches are:

  • New South Wales/ACT
  • New Zealand
  • Queensland
  • South Australia/NT
  • Victoria/Tasmania
  • Western Australia

Members of Council must ensure that they comply with their legal obligations as company directors of the ACPSEM. Council members are expected to be familiar with the Articles of Association and By-Laws of the College, the Duties and Guidelines for Officers and the ACPSEM Conflict of Interest policy.

Specific Tasks of Councillors

  • Attend and contribute to Council Meetings
  • Establish strategies and policies on behalf of the ACPSEM members
  • Review and vote upon other matters of importance to the ACPSEM, its members, or the professions it represents
  • Incorporate Corporate Responsibility into the strategies and actions of the ACPSEM

ACPSEM governance documentation is available by selecting the menu item to the left.

For further information regarding ACPSEM governance, please contact the General Manager on +61 (02) 8305 3907 or email