Specialty Groups

The ACPSEM Specialty Groups exist to facilitate the activities and passions of ACPSEM members with a common interest in one or more of the disciplines of Medical Physics, Radiopharmaceutical Science and Biomedical Engineering. Specialty Groups link with the disciplines of the ACPSEM Training Education and Assessment Program (TEAP). The Specialty Groups for areas or disciplines not linked to TEAP are formally referred to as Special Interest Groups.

The general mission of ACPSEM Specialty Groups and Special Interest Groups is to act for the benefit and protection of the public by initiating policies or protocols that improve technical standards, methodology and professional standards of best practice. All Specialty Groups and Special Interest Groups have their own Terms of Reference, under which each group defines their own specific missions.

The Current ACPSEM Specialty Groups are:

  • Radiation Oncology
  • Radiology
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Radiopharmaceutical Science
  • Radiation Protection
  • Biomedical Engineering
 New and emerging Specialty and Special Interest Groups
ACPSEM recognises that many of our members cannot be solely classified as practitioners in the traditional disciplines of our Specialty Groups. With an eye to the future, the Board and Advisory Forum continue to consider what other specialty groups or special interest groups should be established to encompass the practices of our members at present and in the years to co
The ACPSEM Specialty Group model is structured to distinguish between those with an interest in a specialty and those who actively practice within it. This model offers members greater clarity and opportunity to influence the work that these specialty groups undertake on behalf of the College. Amongst other things, Specialty Groups work alone or with other organisations to develop standards, position papers and to influence policy, and provide expert advice to shape ACPSEM TEAP and CPD programs and policy.

The Anatomy of a Specialty Group




 Interest Group

An entry level subgroup for all members, regardless of education level, training, professional stage, degree of experience or scope of specialisation. 

  • All ACPSEM members are eligible to join Interest Subgroups
  • Members can join the Interest Subgroup of a Specialty Group outside of their own specialty/scope of expertise.
    • e.g. A DIMP TEAP Registrar can join the Interest Group of the ROMP Specialty Group. 
Why Join an Interest Group? 
If you are unable to, or would rather not, actively participate in the work of the Practice Subgroup, but would still like to be informed of its undertakings and projects, join the Interest Subgroup.
  • Receive invitations to educational and/or informational events and workshops. 
  • Be part of a Community of Practice. Connect and network with like-minded professionals to bolster your expertise and professional skill set
  • Access a host of resources and stay in the loop as to what is happening in and around your specialty area.


Practice Group
A subgroup for ACPSEM members with established or growing expertise in a specialty, who want to expand the scope of their specialty knowledge, contribute to developments within it and/or lead specialty practice.
  • Eligibility is determined by self-identification. 
Why Join a Practice Group?
  • Shape, write or contribute to internal and external publications, position papers, policy, and submissions
  • Gain a networking avenue for career guidance and opportunities to expand your profession scope and skillset
  • Be eligible to nominate for election to the Leadership Group
  • Engage regularly with other members through an online discussion forum, practice group meetings, and other events.
Because of the expectation that Practice Group members will actively participate in Specialty Group activities and projects, ACPSEM recommends that you join no more than three Specialty Practice Groups. 


Leadership Group
The Leadership Committee acts as executive committee of the Specialty Group. The members of the Leadership Committee are members of the Practice Group who seek to be deeply involved in the specialty practice through a leadership role, and are elected to this committee to guide the College activities that support the specialty practice, and the members of the Interest Group, the Practice Group, and the College as a whole.
  • Each Leadership Committee can have maximum of 8 Committee members
  • The composition requirements for the Leadership Committee differ for each Specialty Group. See the Specialty Group and Special Interest Group Guidelines for information specific to the individual groups.


Want to Join a Specialty Group?

Ensure you are familiar with the anatomy of the ACPSEM Specialty Groups and the eligibility requirements of the subgroup you wish to join. 

ACPSEM members can join the Interest Group and/or Practice Group of a Specialty Group at any time via the SG/SIG and Branches portal of "My ACPSEM". Simply click ‘subscribe’ next to the name of your chosen group to join instantly and gain access to the group's online platform. Joining will automatically add you to the group's mailing list. You can unsubscribe at any time.

The Leadership Committee for each Specialty Group is nominated and elected from the its Practice Group. Calls for nominations are announced by ACPSEM in emails to the Practice Group. Certain Leadership Committees may have one or more vacant positions for members of a specific background or membership tier. If you are interested in joining a Leadership Committee or learning of any potential vacancies, please email membership@acpsem.org.au

For further information on how specialty groups operate, see the ACPSEM Guidelines on Specialty Groups and Special Interest Groups.